Thinking Out Loud

March 2, 2014

I’m Writing This For Me

Filed under: blogging, writing — Tags: , , , — paulthinkingoutloud @ 1:54 pm

One of the concerns I have about using the WordPress platform is that when an item here is complete, the button I click at the end says “publish.” This has a number of unfortunate nuances, not the least of which is that it makes me out to be a “publisher,” with illusions of grandeur that the world waits with baited breath for my latest tidbit of wisdom. Perhaps my readers even begin with a prayer, “For what we are about to receive, may the Lord make us truly thankful.”

weblogThe word “blog” is actually short for “weblog” and the “log” part is evocative of a “journal.” When, as happened here, the writing starts to attract a worldwide audience, it’s easy to be consumed with the statistics and think of yourself as a publisher who now has to meet a daily deadline.

When the blog is spiritual in nature, it’s easy to fall into the trap that says, “This is a major ministry I have built and now I must be faithful to it.” After all, God is depending this particular enterprise to reach the world; He has no other plan, no other servants.”

It’s so easy to be caught up in a false sense of your own self-importance.

We do this in churches as well. An old song may have talked about “You in your small corner, and I in mine;” but in our minds, our small corner starts to take on epic proportions. An entire city may be eternally doomed if we miss choir practice or don’t get the audio-visual equipment we need for the next Sunday School lesson. And don’t even talk to me about the possibility of doing the next worship set without a drummer. We must find a drummer. We will find a drummer.

The world will not stop if I miss a day; but I have, in fact, desired to remain faithful to this. But I don’t have to cover every breaking story, or comment on every Evangelical trend.

At the end of the day, this is a journal of my thoughts and opinions, and where my heart was at in March, 2014.  “Publish or perish?” That’s not the Biblical way. Better to pause, to rest, to be still, to meditate. 

 

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for this. I haven’t seen your statistics, but I suspect they’re way better than mine! I’ve coined the term “pseudopublic” to describe what happens when I write something that is potentially available to millions of readers – but is actually read by a few, most of whom know me ‘in the flesh’. The point about blogs (or any writing on the net) is that they _are_ available, _can_ be read, and I therefore have to think twice before pressing “publish”. Somebody may one day hold me to account for what I write. But despite this, I suspect most of us write primarily for ourselves. Even if we have “a message”, we are not politicians plugging the party line, or mass evangelists with a mission. We are just people who think it’s OK to share our thoughts, “thinking out loud” (that’s a great title, by the way). And if someone can be bothered to read it, that’s nice. I like reading yours – so I hope you keep sharing. But no pressure :-)

    Comment by Paul Martin Waters — March 4, 2014 @ 4:30 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Every time you leave a comment an angel gets its wings...

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

