Thinking Out Loud

August 8, 2013

Thursday Link List

linksHere’s a few things that just missed being in yesterday’s list. I may add them to next week’s for the wider audience at Out of Ur; then again I might forget.

  • Bene Diction Blogs On has a good follow-up piece on the huge credibility gap with Tony Anthony’s book Taming the Tiger, which has culminated in the closing of his ministry.  Click here.
  • Who is Samuel Williamson? The name doesn’t register, but his blog, Beliefs of the Heart gets a lot of comment action. In a recent piece he suggests that Sunday School with its simplified-message Bible stories possibly does more harm than good. Click here
  • This is not a current link, but the above reminds me of a piece we did here about ten months ago about The Bible Story Handbook, by John and Kim Walton. See below for a quotation.  Click here.
  • I’m sure that when the Bible speaks about wives submitting to husbands, nobody had in mind the type of things Lee Grady has witnessed. Click here.
  • Rocky of Ages:  This is a current link, but pertains to some old information. An email is making the rounds about the conversion of Sylvester Stallone. Unlike many religiously flavored email forwards, this one actually made it into Snopes.com. Click here.

“If we present something as God’s Word when it is not, we are misusing God’s name. Students of the Bible expect their teachers to present the authoritative teaching of God’s Word as given by the inspired authors. If we substitute this teaching for some idea we think is important, students don’t know the difference. We are then violating the third commandment because we have attributed God’s authority to what is really only our own idea.” (John & Kim Walton, The Bible Story Handbook; p. 25)

3 Comments »

  1. In response to, “Who is Samuel Williamson?”

    Sorry, I don’t mean to be mysterious about my identity. I keep meaning to put a bio up on my site, but I haven’t gotten around to it. I’ll give you some rough data points:
    • My father was born in China to Pentecostal missionaries.
    • My father had some difficulty with AOG theology, became a Presbyterian, and was a PCA pastor until his retirement in 1995. (His final church was: http://www.westpca.com/).
    • I went to University of Michigan and studied Reformation/Enlightenment Intellectual History, philosophy, and Hebrew (and a bit of Greek).
    • I did mission work overseas for three years and felt God say “not now” so I moved back to Ann Arbor, MI, and got a job in a software company. (There weren’t many jobs in European Intellectual history.)
    • With two partners, I ended up buying the software company and worked there about 25 years.
    • In 2007 I heard God call me to writing, speaking, and men’s ministry, and I left the business world.
    • I live in Ann Arbor, Michigan with my wife. I have four grown children and an increasing number of grandchildren.

    I’m an orthodox believer.

    I write Beliefs of the Heart to help believers and non-believers examine their truest, deepest, heart-beliefs.

    Many believers hold sound doctrine in their heads, but their lives are filled with fear, anxiety, and discontent. I believe this is partly due to unexamined beliefs of the heart. In our heads we believe God loves us, yet we live lives of quiet desperation.

    Sam

    Comment by Beliefs of the Heart — August 8, 2013 @ 9:08 am

    • Thanks for responding so quickly! You’ve got a great website and lots of fans! I’d like to “borrow” something some time from your blog for our Christianity 201 devotional site, if that’s okay.

      Comment by paulthinkingoutloud — August 8, 2013 @ 9:22 am

      • Of course you may. I’m honored.

        I like your site as well, and I love the page/category: Thinking Out Loud — that’s really fun.

        Thanks,

        Comment by Beliefs of the Heart — August 8, 2013 @ 9:33 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Don't just stand there, say something!

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

