Thinking Out Loud

June 10, 2012

One Rule for You

One of my all-time favorite songs is by 80′s UK mainstream band After The Fire (ATF) which also happens to be a Christian band.  Since we changed the rules here to allow video embeds, I realized it’s never been posted on the blog.  This song basically expresses the frustration that many of us feel when trying to give testimony to what Christ has done for us around people who grew up in a postmodern mindset.

“That’s good for you, and I’ll have to find something that works for me.”

But truth, if it is truth, has to be truth for all people. There cannot be a “truth for you” and a “truth for me.” The postmodern condition is, if anything, a quest to deny the existence of absolute truth. But if you’re flying from New York to London, you want a pilot who believes that 2+2=4, not one that believes that 2+2=5, or that there are many different answers.

That’s what this song is all about.

What kind of line is that when you say you don’t understand a single word
I tell you all these things, you turn around and make as if you never heard

What kind of line is that you’re giving me
One Rule for you, one rule for me

Too many people try to tell me that I shouldnt say the things I do
I know that you would only do the same if it meant as much too you

What kind of line is that you’re giving me
One Rule for you, one rule for me

They say believe in what you like as long as you can keep it to yourself
I say if what I know is right, it’s wrong if I don’t tell somebody else

What kind of line is that you’re giving me
One Rule for you, one rule for me

written by Peter Banks & Andy Piercy

2 Comments »

  1. >> “if what I know is right, it’s wrong if I don’t tell somebody else”
    or even ‘everybody’ else I meet. 2 Timothy 4:2

    Comment by meetingintheclouds — June 10, 2012 @ 11:45 pm

  2. Reblogged this on GoodOleWoody's Blog and Website and commented:
    Great post!

    Comment by goodolewoody — June 11, 2012 @ 8:31 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Don't just stand there, say something!

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

