Thinking Out Loud

December 30, 2010

Banned from Stuff Christians Like

I have always been a fan of Jon Acuff.   We started our blogs around the same time, though I suspect his daily readership is just a tiny bit larger than this one.    (He also backdated his early posts, so early visitors ended up seeing what appeared to be a work already in progress.)

I reviewed his book not once, not twice, but three times on blogs I write or administrate.   I’ve linked to him many, many times here.  Plus, I created a sidebar advertisement for the book which appeared on those same three blogs.

But I couldn’t help but notice several months ago that the recent comments I was leaving on the blog were not appearing.

Then, last week, Jon wrote about the fact that sometimes his wife sees some rather hurtful comments online before he does.    He then went on to talk about how sometimes these comments are simply intended to wound or discourage.

I figured that was as good a time as any to both (a) suggest that it is equally hurtful when valid, positive comments are excluded; and (b) to thereby test the waters to see if that comment might actually appear.   I didn’t copy and paste the comment before sending it, but I think I ended up by saying that no matter what else, I have always been and will always be supportive.

I think Jon Acuff is a brilliant writer who is genuinely funny and yet, at the same time has a real heart for people, a phrase he would probably have some fun with.    I have been thrilled to introduce his book and his blog to a number of people this year.

But I am currently being blocked from participating in that particular blog community.

Without knowing why.

Mystery.

Do you have any Christian blogs where your comments have been blocked without any particular provocation on your part?   Did you stop reading those blogs, or are you still a fan nonetheless?

Graphic:  Today’s graphic is actually from Facebook (which I’m not on) not any blogging network.    I fully empathize with anyone who has been so blocked without reasonable justification.

Elsewhere on this blog:

4 Comments »

  1. Yes indeed. I was on once banned from a site that I genuinely enjoyed because I quoted from translations other than the King James. No warning, just banned. I was also banned once because I took respectful issue with a slant of scripture I found troubling. I had thought that blog was a place to dialogue. Guess not.

    What becomes clear is that we do not really know each other, not with any depth. Because we share our hearts and thoughts we fool ourselves into thinking we are actually in fellowship.And because of that, when a banning occurs, or genuine comments do not make the cut, it really does hurt.

    Comment by Cynthia — December 30, 2010 @ 11:46 pm

  2. I am inconstant when it comes to reading your blog entries, although I enjoy reading most of them. Having said this, when I accessed your blog today and this window popped up saying that *I* was “blocked” for engaging in annoying or abusive behavior, like I stated, I thought it referred to me! My heart sunk.

    I can remember two instances where I was in no way abusive or out of line, but I did speak my honest opinion that apparently went against the grain of the main stances on two particular religious sites that I was on. I wasn’t banned, but as a consequence my posts were deleted and on one of the sites I was duly contacted by PM (that was decent of them!) as to why (too borderline inflammatory, according to them). And these were sites that dealt exclusively with my very religion! I never visited those sites again, let alone post there. Oh, and come to think of it more, there was a Christian site (not of my brand of Christianity) where I was told I was not welcome because of my particular religious (Christian) beliefs.

    I have come to the conclusion that if I cannot write what I honestly think ***ON THE INTERNET*** then that greatly diminishes the power and utility of the Internet. I am not speaking to someone directly face to face where social conventions of tact more aptly apply; I am on the Internet where under the guise of anonymity I should be able to say what I really think *benefiting the readers,* whoever they may be. If I start spewing acrid F-word-like expletives or similar tones, then of course, that is not acceptable both for the Internet or any other situation. But speaking *my* truth or opinion, why wouldn’t that be of value? If you can’t stand the heat, then you shouldn’t be in the kitchen — on the Internet; go somewhere else in real time and listen to the platitudes of deceit, denial and delusion that is already too rife in our “politically correct” society, and which has infected our religious institutions. The Christ didn’t pull any punches, so why should I if I can emulate Him in like manner and demeanor? But look what happened to Him!

    Comment by Paul B — December 31, 2010 @ 5:54 am

  3. I’ve been banned from an allegedly Christian site til Feb 2012. The banning message that pops up if I try to post informs me that I’m not saved. If Harold Camping is right, that means I’m going to hell without passing Go or collecting $200.

    Comment by Brendt Waters — January 4, 2011 @ 11:00 pm

    • Uh…okay. I did enjoy my trip to your blog just now, though.

      Comment by paulthinkingoutloud — January 4, 2011 @ 11:25 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Every time you leave a comment an angel gets its wings...

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

