Thinking Out Loud

July 18, 2010

Miracles Should Be Remembered

Filed under: prayer — Tags: , , , , , , , — paulthinkingoutloud @ 12:39 pm

The other day I was challenged with the question, “Have you ever seen a dramatic healing in response to prayer?”  I paused to try to think of one. I needn’t have paused, however.

Over a year ago our family exercised our faith in prayer for someone in need of healing, but it’s lamentable that now, twelve months later, it’s so easy to forget God’s intervention.   Maybe we shouldn’t be so quick to judge the Israelites in the Old Testament.   Here’s the blog post as it appeared here on 7.14.09 (or as we say in Canada, 14.07.09)…

prayer requests

Because of the nature of my work, I have the opportunity to hear from a number of people in the course of a year who express their desire to see God meet a specific need in a special way.

“I’ll pray for you;” I tell them. I explain that we pray together as a family at about 9:00 PM every night, which readers of this blog will remember me discussing a few weeks ago here.

After we read the Bible or devotional book selection for that night, I’ll say, “There’s someone who came in the store today; I know you don’t know them, but I’d like you to pray for ________.”

But every once in awhile, I’ll say, “There was someone I promised to pray for tonight, and now I can’t remember who it was.”

That’s what happened in the case of A.  I forgot.   He had been going through a rough time with a digestive tract disorder, a situation we’re not unfamiliar with. For six years. He had mentioned more recently that it was hitting particularly hard.

Later, I remember his situation, my memory kicking in, and we started praying for him about six weeks ago. Once on our “prayer list” my kids rarely let go of a name, even when they forget the details. But they did remember that A. was one of two situations where we were asking God to something really, really special.

So we prayed.

I should also explain that A. has a really big sense of humor, and sends me e-mail forwards at least every three days. Some of them are little edgy; you’d never know this guy has a brother who is a pastor in a conservative Baptist denomination. But I do open them all. At least, I thought I did.

It turns out I missed the one where he either described going to a Toronto hospital, or facing surgery. But we kept praying.

Then, on the road in Boston and doing my best to get e-mails despite the fact that in hotels, “Free Wireless” is a meaningless phrase, I read something about him “recovering well” and expecting to “go home from the hospital.”

Did I miss something? I e-mailed to ask if he had some kind of procedure; and told him the boys and I had been praying. He e-mailed back to advise that he had a tumor removed, was recovering well, and was being released a day early. There’s even some question as to whether he even had the digestive disorder that he felt he had all these years. Wow!

To jump to the obvious high point in the story: We started praying in earnest at the same time A. needed it most; not knowing specifically of the current need. And it took a couple of e-mails afterward to convince him (and myself!) that our praying and his need had definitely converged at the same time.

Despite having what I consider to be a decent measure of faith, I’m also marveling about this. The boys and I weren’t just saying a name on a list; we were really asking God to do something ‘outside the box’ for A.

And I believe that He certainly did.

5 Comments »

  1. i have always looked at the sins that the Israelites did when they were in the desert and in Canaan. i could never understand how they could turn away from God, especially after he had done such wondrous things like the crossing of the Red Sea. ‘how could they forget so easily? i would never forget.’
    but sadly it is true that we do forget the things that God has done, not only for others but also for ourselves. and when we face a really ‘big’ problem, we doubt that He can bring us through. all because we have forgotten the things that He has done for us. or because we try to ‘logic-alize’ everything that happened to us. “maybe it wasnt really God who did it? i mean it was so-and-so who helped me during that time. the doctors hepled me.” etc
    so i agree, miracles should be remembered. they give us strength and support our faith.

    Comment by heavenbound — July 18, 2010 @ 12:58 pm

  2. Nice testimony;

    This insight into the resurrection may interest you:

    The Center Of The Universe Is Life – General Relativity, Quantum Mechanics and The Shroud Of Turin – video http://www.metacafe.com/watch/3993426/

    The End Of Christianity – Finding a Good God in an Evil World – Pg.31 –
    William Dembski
    Excerpt: “In mathematics there are two ways to go to infinity. One is to grow large without measure. The other is to form a fraction in which the denominator goes to zero. The Cross is a path of humility in which the infinite God becomes finite and then contracts to zero, only to resurrect and thereby unite a finite humanity within a newfound infinity.”

    http://www.designinference.com/documents/2009.05.end_of_xty.pdf

    Philippians 2: 5-11
    Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross. Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name: That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

    “Miracles do not happen in contradiction to nature, but only in contradiction to that which is known to us of nature.”
    St. Augustine

    Intelligent Design – The Anthropic Hypothesis

    http://lettherebelight-77.blogspot.com/2009/10/intelligent-design-anthropic-hypothesis_19.html

    Comment by bornagain77 — July 18, 2010 @ 2:44 pm

    • This is significantly enough “out there” to constitute the type of comment I would just automatically delete, since it has little to do with post topic; but considering I got off light compared to the book-length of your third link, I decided to allow it. For now.

      The video comment at the 6:20 mark re. the 2nd Law of Thermodynamics reminds me of a post at this blog a year ago:

      http://paulwilkinson.wordpress.com/2009/06/12/apologetics-in-a-box/

      If you’re posting a comment on a blog, it MUST be related to the post discussion.

      Comment by paulthinkingoutloud — July 18, 2010 @ 6:57 pm

  3. Thanks for allowing the comment to stay. You are absolutely right in the fact that the second law (entropy) is the “universe-wide” chasm that separates evolution from even being remotely possible scientifically:

    To stay in line with the topic though, here is a miracle I like to remember:

    Miracle Testimony – One Easter Sunday Sunrise Service – video

    http://www.metacafe.com/watch/3995314

    Here is another video I just loaded tonight that is somewhat in line with the topic:

    Francis Chan – Experiencing Jesus Christ

    http://www.metacafe.com/w/4928919

    Comment by bornagain77 — July 18, 2010 @ 7:52 pm

  4. Thank you for reminding me of the need to remember miracles…and for pointing me back to last years post. Your faithfulness to type out what the Spirit moves you to communicate is inspiring to me. Even though I am not blogging much anymore, I am writing and minstering more than ever, attempting to do so in the same fresh and spontaneous way in which you approach your blog

    Comment by Cynthia — July 18, 2010 @ 10:27 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

