Thinking Out Loud

June 18, 2010

“I Don’t Love Jesus… Guys Don’t Love Other Guys”

If you know anything about me, by now you recognize the high premium
I place on honesty and transparency.But I’m still processing the words
of a Christian radio talk show host recently, particularly his
suggestion: “I don’t really ‘love’ Jesus; guys don’t love other guys.”

I guess I was somewhat concerned when I heard this, but also somewhat
empathetic.  I resonated with what he was saying; even after all
Christ has done for us, it’s not the same as the love I have for my
wife and kids.

Then later, I saw an older book title, Why It’s Hard to Love Jesus by
Erwin Lutzer and it reminded me of the comment again.  The book description
begins,”Renew the passion for Christ you experienced as a new believer!”

I try to look at my own life in these terms:  Am I moving ‘toward the
cross’ or moving ‘away from the cross.’  I believe that (hopefully most
days) I am moving toward the cross.

I couldn’t honestly characterize it as “an all-consuming love” that the
classic Christian writers talked about.  But my gratitude toward God
and my awe and wonder at His ways grows daily.

Most of us, if we’re honest, are much more consumed by our passions,
our possessions and our position.

R. G. LeTourneau once said (as part of a larger quotation) “…If you
don’t love the Lord you don’t know the Lord…”  Maybe we don’t really
know him.   The disciples were right there and they totally missed that
Jesus was God.

Maybe even our knowledge of Jesus is at best, shallow or superficial.
Maybe that’s a topic for a future radio show.


To read more, check out my devotional blog, Christianity 201.

2 Comments »

  1. Yes i think that love for Christ is essential and assumed by the apostles. For example in I Peter 1:8 he says “though you have not seen him, you love him….and are filled with joy unspeakable and full of glory.” There should be an objective passion for Christ, though as we even see in Peter’s own life it dwindles and is tested by our own sinfulness. “The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.”

    My blog on the relationship between sin and the believer’s changed heart.

    http://enochroute.wordpress.com/

    Comment by Josh Newsom — June 18, 2010 @ 11:57 am

  2. […] For more devotional reading today, check out my other blog, Thinking Out Loud. […]

    Pingback by Finding a Worship Moment « Christianity 201 — June 18, 2010 @ 9:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

