Thinking Out Loud

July 29, 2009

Blogroll Backstory

Filed under: blogging, internet — Tags: , , , — paulthinkingoutloud @ 8:15 pm

So here are the answers to all the questions that have come through my “contact us” page, which wasn’t working properly anyway; and has now been revised.

  1. Thanks for saying you come to see the blogroll.   Uh,  you do read the posts, too; right?
  2. Although it’s been somewhat static for the past eight weeks, officially, sites come and go off the list.   Some sites seem to get off-message for awhile and then they bounce back; so they’re put back on the list.   One blog has been on and off about three times now.
  3. Blogs that don’t post for three weeks generally get de-listed.   I try to focus on blogs that are posting regularly.   Especially now, as Homer Simpson would say, that the internet is available on computer.
  4. Size matters.   Typesize.   Every post here at TOL gets customized to a stronger, bigger font because the template for this theme is teeny, tiny type.    It adds about ten seconds to each day’s post.  Call it: Blogging – Large Print Edition.
  5. I did my own customization to the drab gray and changed everything to bright red.   It looked really cool.   Then I tried to apply it and discovered you have to pay for CSS customization.    Oh well.    If you know HTML, CSS isn’t that hard to learn.    Now I’ve forgotten it all, though I kept the style sheet.
  6. I chose the gray theme for the wide border.    I downloaded a wide-body theme from John Scaddington at the blog Human3rror called “I Like Content” but you can only use it if you’re on self-hosting wordpress.org; as opposed to wordpress.com
  7. I don’t list blogs that spend endless time talking about the technology itself, nor FaceBook, nor Twitter, nor BlackBerry, etc.   At TOL, the medium is NOT the message.    This post means I would disqualify myself.
  8. I like blogs that stay on a Christian theme.    If you talk about your spouse and kids, I suppose that’s truer to the original web-log concept, but I like blogs that get into talking about church, doctrine, apologetics, theology, application, etc.
  9. An exception would be Resolved to Worship.   I needed more links to sites women would relate to.   I think we can all learn much from what Ann posts, but I don’t actually read much of it.    It’s my gift to my women readers.    Bonus points if you can figure out where they live; the kids never wear shoes.  Never.   I figured it was Australia or something, but then they celebrated the 4th of July.   I’m leaning toward Key West or San Diego.
  10. I try to balance the Wesleyans and the Reformers.   Actually, as the saying goes, some of my best friends are Reformers, but they get a lot of link love elsewhere.   I don’t link the obvious ones, just to tick some people off.
  11. The “fun” links are there because some of you take yourselves way too seriously.    Take some time out and do the Jumble Puzzle, or some of the ones at USA Today.
  12. I didn’t delete Daily Encouragement, it’s now listed under Devotions instead of Blog.   Everybody needs friends like Stephen and Brooksyne.   As John Denver once sang, “Life in Amish Country is kinda laid back…”
  13. Scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours.    Actually, I was about to delete this one guy, ’cause he was getting hopelessly off topic, and then I realized that I was on his links.    He’s still there, but he’s on probation.  You know who you are.
  14. Check out the “Five Questions” series Rick has been doing periodically at the Just a Thought blog.   Some talk shows get all the good guests.
  15. We’re up to three variations on the “Stuff Christians Like” theme.   Jon Acuff is one of my few must-read blogs, provided we’re not stuck in a hotel where “Free Wireless” means nothing.
  16. Reviewed a book?   Link to A**z*n and you’re toast.   I’m the head of the Society for the Preservation of Christian Bookstores.   SPCB.    (Yeah, I know what you’re thinking: “and then he’s going to bring back rotary dial phones.”   Well you’re wrong.   I was thinking more of hymnbooks.   See we just take all the modern worship choruses and put them in a book and give them all a number…)   Anyway, a town that loses its Christian bookstore has lost far more than a retail enterprise.
  17. The number of blogs I have in my personal bookmarks is approximately three times what’s listed here.   I try to get to all of them at least once a week.   Some of my best writing is in their comments section.   You can sometimes write better when you’re reacting to something.
  18. Alltop is the blog-aggregator place to be.   The “badge” on the sidebar currently links to Alltop Church (modern Church), but previously linked to Alltop Christian.   I suggest visiting both reguarly.   Hover your mouse over each story to read the first hundred words or so.
  19. The highest single-day hits here have come from posting the Vietnam War photo and blogging about Robert Schuller (Jr. and Sr.)  One of those posts attracts comments from people who seem to think they are posting directly to Robert A. himself; despite two comments by myself telling them to knock it off.    He won’t get the message.
  20. If you don’t like my blogroll you can always scroll down to my ‘pages’ section and click on “Stealing Anne Jackson’s Blogroll.”   I tried a few of the links last week and got to read some really interesting stuff.
  21. I have no 21st point
  22. I have no 22nd point
  23. I have no 23rd point
  24. The link to my book celebrates a one-year anniversary tomorrow.   And this blog itself continues to go another day without a single YouTube embed.   (I embedded four of them in one day on my book industry blog just to reassure myself I could do it.)

So there you have it.  24 points of interest about my blogroll.   And you were there.

Sites/blogs mentioned here are all in the blogroll itself.   Clicky clicky.

Did he just say ‘Clicky, clicky?’

5 Comments »

  1. and i am highly gratified to be on your list…thanks, paul.

    and i read the posts.

    Comment by randy morgan — July 29, 2009 @ 9:47 pm

  2. i’ve always just kept you on my reading list, now i’ve linked you. i don’t know how “theological” i get but it doesn’t much matter does it? the blog’s mostly for me anyway as i use a creative outlet to process some of the pain.
    hey, you linked to Camp Iawah? i’ve BEEN to Camp Iawah. very cool.

    Comment by Ian — July 30, 2009 @ 8:15 am

  3. I recently took down my blog roll because , as you said about yours, some were getting quite off track and I worried that my roll would seem like an endorsement…is that how you perceive it? So I went very PC and , instead of deleting the obvious offenders, I took it all down.

    Reading your reasons for maintaing a roll made me see that I was likely too hasty. I’ll see.

    Comment by Cynthia — July 30, 2009 @ 7:50 pm

    • Hi Cynthia,

      If my blogroll were to disappear overnight, it would be a frustrating technical glitch, but losing my personal blog bookmarks would hurt far more.

      What I’ve posted here is a listing of blogs I think people who read TOL would be comfortable reading.

      I’ve also noticed that some of the very biggest blogs, like Stuff Christians Like and 22 Words, don’t bother with it at all.

      But having said that, I would encourage you to rebuild it, even a little bit at a time.

      Two of my other blogs only have one or two outside links.

      Comment by paulthinkingoutloud — July 30, 2009 @ 8:31 pm

  4. If people insist on writing to Robert A. his wife has a blog with a comment section.

    Comment by Bene D — August 5, 2009 @ 11:26 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Every time you leave a comment an angel gets its wings...

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

