Thinking Out Loud

March 9, 2009

The Extreme Sport of Speculation

close-to-home-on-blogging1

Christianity Today Online has an article today about blogging itself. I decided to shake things up a bit:

With somewhere between 1 1/2 and 2 percent of the electricity in the U.S. now being used to power cloud computers and server farms, blogging could be come an environmental issue someday! (Yes, I’m serious.) Christianity Today Online’s one-thousand character limit on comments ought to be normative across the blogosphere. There are too many words, too much time and way too much brainpower being used up in the flood of opinion. Christian blogs often become battlefields in wars of doctrine, especially those doctrines which perhaps belong more to the realm of mystery than to anything we can sort out through argument. Still, as a blogger who just passed the one-year mark, I wouldn’t have traded the past year (675 posts) for anything. I’ve encountered the most interesting people, been encouraged to read books I might never have known, and have risen to the daily challenge that newspaper publishers have known for decades. Blogging is both the best and worst of online activity, depending on what you read and write.

The focus of the article is the “attack mentality.”   (Wow! Were they reading this blog a few days ago?)  There are a couple of interesting links including:

I’m not sure both of these links belong in the same article.   As big a fan as I am of Rob Bell; Ben Witherington makes some good observations while remaining very charitable toward Bell in his writing.

While I’m closer in age to Stackhouse than I am to Chris Tomlin, Stackhouse clearly doesn’t understand modern music.   He wants all the words to rhyme perfectly, failing to “get it” when it comes to words sharing the same vowel sounds (like grace and praise.)    But his concern with Tomlin mixing metaphors is well founded.   Most of us don’t think much of the words as we sing them.   (Stackhouse would love the recent debates over the Hillsong composition, Mighty To Save.   It’s verse and chorus seem to belong to two entirely separate pieces.)

As for the broader article itself, it’s true that in the blah-blah-blah of words online, “blogs facilitate the literary genre of ranting.”

That’s something that, moving forward,  I’ll try not to be guilty of.  In the meantime, I get to indulge the extreme sport of speculation and suggest that blogging could become an environmental concern.   Where else do you get to play head games like that?

Graphic:  John McPherson comic strip Close To Home

1 Comment »

  1. I have only been at this blog business for 2 months now, so fortunately I am not an extreme environmental threat, yet. I did recently publish my first book, and considering the fact that I am from Oregon, it is probably a good thing that it is only about 100 pages. I do hope someday to be at the seriously dangerous state in the blogosphere, but for now I can only dream.
    As for your observation regarding the seemingly endless war of words being raged by those of divergent views, I tend to find both interest and valulessness in these rants. Sometimes it is good to get something off of your chest and let it go, but if you can’t let it go and you simply continue to rant, it becomes a large scale waste of time. I love the discussions I enter into with people that I don’t agree with, I actually learn something occasionally. Well I have taken up enough space here, keep up the pressure on the environment and I will try to also.
    God Bless, Glenn Smith Jr, author of The Key of Forgiveness
    p.s. no tree were hurt in the writing of this post

    Comment by kingdomkeysbooks — March 9, 2009 @ 6:26 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Your Response (Value-Added Comments Only)

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

